The new Roles & Permissions feature set allows you to control who is able to view specific pages and take certain actions within Pype Closeout. Roles & Permissions provides the ability to create new user roles, set permissions for roles, and update the system default permissions for the different types of users who might be using Closeout on a construction project. This can range from providing subcontractors with read-only access to certain items, allowing architects to approve submitted requirements, and almost anything else in-between. This feature is most useful when applying an already existing closeout review workflow in the Closeout product for use by the construction teams. Below is a quick guide on how to successfully work with the Roles & Permissions feature. In order to utilize this new set of features you will need to currently be an admin-level user in Pype Closeout.

Step 1: Login to Pype Closeout.

Step 2: Click on the Admin button on the lower left of the Projects page. If the Admin button is not visible, please contact Pype Support to request access.

Step 3: Select Role Management from the available options.

Step 4: To create a new user role with a unique set of permissions, select the Add New Role button highlighted here.

Step 5: Next, input a name for the new role, select an existing role to copy, add a description (if needed), and then click the Add button. Even though you are making a copy of an existing role, the newly created role can be customized with a unique permission-set by utilizing the steps below.

Step 6: In order to customize the newly created role, select it from the list in Role Management and then click on the Customize button featured on the right-hand side of the page. Existing roles also have the ability to be customized and configured. To do so, select the role and follow the directions provided below.

Step 7: To start customizing the role permissions, select the module (Projects, Dashboard, Submittals, etc.) for which you would like to either turn access on or off to. This can be from a high-level (e.g. enabling or restricting access to a module) or a granular-level (e.g. enabling or restricting access to a feature within a module). 

Step 8: To enable or disable access to a module for the selected role, select the On or Off toggle at the top of the module page. If Off is selected for a specific module, all users with this role will not be able to see the module when they are working in Pype Closeout. This toggle button is featured in the screenshot below and is available for each module within Closeout.

Step 9: Within each module, further feature access can either be turned on or off for the selected role. Depending on the module, this can include the ability to add or edit submittals, upload documents, send emails, update email templates, and much more. To grant the role access to a specified feature, make sure the toggle button is turned to On for the feature. Selecting Off for a feature will disable access to that feature for the selected role. Make sure to click the Save button at the bottom right-hand side of the page once you have completed selecting the permissions.

Step 10: Once you have completed assigning all of the permissions for the new or updated user role, the next step is to assign that role to users within Closeout. To do this, select the Admin button from the menu on the bottom left-hand side. 

Step 11: On the Admin page select the User Management tile from the available options.

Step 12: On the User Management page, you will have two tabs to choose from when assigning a user role. The first tab named "[Company Name] Users" will list all of the available users (company employees) for that company. The "Company Directory Contacts" tab will list all other users with access to the company Closeout environment. This typically includes subcontractors, consultants, architects, and others. Select the appropriate tab for the type of user you would like to update the user role for.

Step 13: The next step is to use the search feature or filters to find the user whose role needs to be modified. Once the user has been found, click the checkbox next to their name and select the Assign Roles button.

Step 14: When the Assign Roles dialogue box appears for the user, use the drop-down menu under "Role" to select the new role you would like to assign to this user. Once complete, click the "Submit" button and the user will be assigned the new role.

Did this answer your question?